news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
 visorcentral >> articles >> The Visor is announced

The Visor is announced

Tuesday April 25, 2000 - 5:45 AM EST - By Marcus Adolfsson

The Visor is announced - shipping in October

The highly anticipated Handspring PDA is finally here - the company introduced the Visor product family earlier today. Visor will start shipping in October.

Founded by the original creators of the Palm computer, Dubinsky and Jeff Hawkins, Handspring is expected to sell a PalmOS based computer that is cheaper, faster, and more expandable than other PalmOS models currently shipping.

Visor has a unique feature you won't find on any current Palm computer yet modularity. Springboard plug-n-play hardware add-ons can expand Visors functionalities almost endlessly.

Extra memory, backup units, games, modems, mp3 players, pagers, and cell-phones are just some of the Springboards that will be available.

Only one module can be used at a time, since it is fitted into the Springboard slot at the top of the Visor.

The Visor will come in several models, starting at $149 (without cradle) up to $249 for a Visor Deluxe (bundled with USB cradle, multiple color case, leather case).

All Visor models have a backlight and a microphone built in. It measures 4.8" x 3.0" x 0.7" .

Currently, the least expensive Palm III computer goes for around $160.




Related Links
None at this time





Update: Auction Update / VisorAdventure 2
Thu Oct 11 - 12:05 AM EST


InnoGear PowerCradle (updated)
Tue Oct 9 - 10:51 PM EST


iambic Office suite
Thu Oct 4 - 1:12 AM EST


Prism dropped to $299
Tue Oct 2 - 6:19 PM EST


New Portable Keyboard
Tue Oct 2 - 4:46 PM EST


MORE NEWS >>



VisorCentral Awards 2001 - Day 11
Mon Oct 8 - 8:29 PM EST


Mr. Hromadka goes to Redmond
Mon Sep 10 - 4:39 AM EST


WordSmith 2.0 Preview
Tue Jul 10 - 9:06 PM EST


Open Desktop
Sat Jul 7 - 11:56 PM EST


VisorVision Explained
Mon Jul 2 - 12:10 AM EST


PC Expo Video Streams
Fri Jun 29 - 5:18 PM EST


MORE ARTICLES >>

About VisorCentral : Copyright 1999 Smartphone Experts All rights reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy policy