news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
 visorcentral >> articles >> Stowaway vs. GoType

Stowaway vs. GoType

Thursday April 13, 2000 - 8:09 PM EST - By James Hromadka

Face Off

While we wait (somewhat) patiently for the 3rd-party Springboard modules to come out, we can get our Visor accessories in order.  Recently keyboards have been thrust into the spotlight with the introduction of the Landware GoType! for Visor and the Targus Stowaway. In this faceoff, I compare the two in terms of features and usability.  Make sure to read the individual reviews (see the links on the right) for in-depth looks at the two keyboards.

Below is a "just the facts, ma'am" table of the features of the GoType! and Stowaway keyboards.  Note that there is no mention of how useful the keyboard drivers are, nor are there any usability comments.

 

Targus Stowaway

Landware GoType!

Targus Stowaway Landware GoType!

Price

$99.95 $69.95

Size (open/closed)

13.8"x5.1"x0.3"/
3.6"x5.1"x0.8"
10"x4½"x1¾"/
N/A

Layout

Full-size QWERTY 85% size QUERTY

Key Spacing

19 mm H/V 17 mm H,
13 mm V

Key travel

3 mm 2.3 mm

Weight

7.9 oz. 13.2 oz.

HotSync in kb

No

Yes

Arrow keys

Inverted-T L-R-U-D in a single row

Included Software

Keyboard driver TakeNote DOC editor, 
WordSleuth Thesaurus,
GoType driver

Details >>

Story Sections
>Face Off
Details

Related Links
Stowaway review
GoType! review






Update: Auction Update / VisorAdventure 2
Thu Oct 11 - 12:05 AM EST


InnoGear PowerCradle (updated)
Tue Oct 9 - 10:51 PM EST


iambic Office suite
Thu Oct 4 - 1:12 AM EST


Prism dropped to $299
Tue Oct 2 - 6:19 PM EST


New Portable Keyboard
Tue Oct 2 - 4:46 PM EST


MORE NEWS >>



VisorCentral Awards 2001 - Day 11
Mon Oct 8 - 8:29 PM EST


Mr. Hromadka goes to Redmond
Mon Sep 10 - 4:39 AM EST


WordSmith 2.0 Preview
Tue Jul 10 - 9:06 PM EST


Open Desktop
Sat Jul 7 - 11:56 PM EST


VisorVision Explained
Mon Jul 2 - 12:10 AM EST


PC Expo Video Streams
Fri Jun 29 - 5:18 PM EST


MORE ARTICLES >>

About VisorCentral : Copyright 1999 Smartphone Experts All rights reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy policy