news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
 visorcentral >> articles >> USB Dilemma

USB Dilemma

Thursday September 16, 1999 - 6:54 PM EST - By Anthony Vargas

USB Dilemma


Visor Deluxe ships with a USB cradle that supports very high speeds when HotSyncing.

Since a USB connection is able to achieve 1.5 mbs, it is technically 13 times faster than a serial port. However, Handspring claims that the USB connection only quadruples the actual performance. Either way, looks like there's no more waiting to synchronize data or install applications!

Taking advantage of this cradle requires that your computer has a USB port and your operating system is able to support USB technology, leaving several platforms in the cold.

In fact, currently Windows98 and MacOS 8.1 are the only mainstream operating systems that supports USB.

As of 12:00 pm today, our VisorMeter showed that 61% of our readers have a computer that has a functional USB interface, while the rest will have to find alternative ways of docking their Visors.


Serial Cradle Option >>

Story Sections
>USB Dilemma
Serial Cradle Option
What about my Mac?

Related Links
None at this time





Update: Auction Update / VisorAdventure 2
Thu Oct 11 - 12:05 AM EST


InnoGear PowerCradle (updated)
Tue Oct 9 - 10:51 PM EST


iambic Office suite
Thu Oct 4 - 1:12 AM EST


Prism dropped to $299
Tue Oct 2 - 6:19 PM EST


New Portable Keyboard
Tue Oct 2 - 4:46 PM EST


MORE NEWS >>



VisorCentral Awards 2001 - Day 11
Mon Oct 8 - 8:29 PM EST


Mr. Hromadka goes to Redmond
Mon Sep 10 - 4:39 AM EST


WordSmith 2.0 Preview
Tue Jul 10 - 9:06 PM EST


Open Desktop
Sat Jul 7 - 11:56 PM EST


VisorVision Explained
Mon Jul 2 - 12:10 AM EST


PC Expo Video Streams
Fri Jun 29 - 5:18 PM EST


MORE ARTICLES >>

About VisorCentral : Copyright 1999 Smartphone Experts All rights reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy policy