news | articles | reviews | software | modules | accessories | discussion | faq | mobile | store
 visorcentral >> articles >> The PC is Dead

The PC is Dead

Wednesday February 14, 2001 - 3:28 PM EST - By Alan Graham

Part 1: The PC is Dead

Now I am going to say something shocking and even a little disturbing. These are words I never thought would pass these lips and I don't want you to be upset. Larry Ellison's vision of the future was right. The PC as you know it, is dead.

Shhhhh, there there now, I know it's scary.

Handheld sales have doubled in 12 months. PC sales are in a slump. Investors are running around like Chicken Little on crack. To quell investor concerns both Steve Jobs and Bill Gates have declared that the PC still has a pulse. Both men recently mentioned that their vision of the future was that the PC would be the heart of your digital world. It will be the link between your handheld, mobile phone, etc. On many levels they are right, however, I see the PC evolving into a digital hub or server that sits in your basement and serves your needs just as any other appliance. But, if home is where the heart is, where is the brain?

You're holding it in your hand. The Visor.

Let's Take a Trip >>

Story Sections
>Part 1: The PC is Dead
Let's Take a Trip
The Man With Two Brains
The Thrill is Gone
Final Thoughts

Related Links






Update: Auction Update / VisorAdventure 2
Thu Oct 11 - 12:05 AM EST


InnoGear PowerCradle (updated)
Tue Oct 9 - 10:51 PM EST


iambic Office suite
Thu Oct 4 - 1:12 AM EST


Prism dropped to $299
Tue Oct 2 - 6:19 PM EST


New Portable Keyboard
Tue Oct 2 - 4:46 PM EST


MORE NEWS >>



VisorCentral Awards 2001 - Day 11
Mon Oct 8 - 8:29 PM EST


Mr. Hromadka goes to Redmond
Mon Sep 10 - 4:39 AM EST


WordSmith 2.0 Preview
Tue Jul 10 - 9:06 PM EST


Open Desktop
Sat Jul 7 - 11:56 PM EST


VisorVision Explained
Mon Jul 2 - 12:10 AM EST


PC Expo Video Streams
Fri Jun 29 - 5:18 PM EST


MORE ARTICLES >>

About VisorCentral : Copyright 1999 Smartphone Experts All rights reserved : Terms of Use : Privacy policy